The self-danger in self-doubt

I’m scared because sometimes I have so much to say
But not nearly enough that will hear
or listen
I’m scared because sometimes I have so much to show
but no stage to stand on
and no audience
I am scared that sometimes to get attention there is a pay
What is the cost? Is it my money? My car?
My labor? My words? My soul?
I’m scared because what if I don’t have enough to give
What if I can’t pay?

– – –

I’m scared because of how much I seem to be willing to sacrifice
To be heard by people that will always be strangers to me
I’m scared because of how much I chose to blind myself
to the crowd that was always beside me

Leave a Reply

