A very nice prompt to look into indeed. Thank you for this! Personally, I am not always sure of what people make of the visible expressions and actions that I show. During the times that I am not with my friends, I actually tend to be self-conscious of the people surrounding me at school. Often times I find myself trying not to look too slouched, making sure my face is devoid of emotion because I worry that I show too much (especially the smiles of amusement), and trying my best to look a little more presentable. I always have my earplugs on, I never meet anyone’s eyes and I am essentially looking down most of the time. I can imagine it probably looks weird when I walk because sometimes I catch myself dragging my body. If I’m going to think about what people’s back stories might be for me, it would probably range from shallow little details to deeply analyzed ones. People could say “wow that kid just looks grumpy/sad/overly serious. He must be having a hell of a day. Maybe he failed a test or he lacks sleep because let’s face it, this is college”. Or they could say “that kid is like a ghost, sort of just floating through these halls, nearly always alone. His eyes are searching, but for what? Maybe somewhere to belong”. Whatever they might be, it would be interesting to find out. And truth is, these things are true sometimes, but most days its just me giving off my neutral vibe. Something that can be misconstrued for loneliness, sadness, or even anger. I promise though I am a pretty happy person as well. I’ve always prided myself however for taking the time to be self-aware. I like to reflect on who I am as a person and what I do and the circumstances I face. It helps me calm myself and it helps me evaluate myself, to find out whether or not I like the person that I am. Because I believe that forming our personality and character is a never-ending process, something that we must constantly re-evaluate. So this wouldn’t be the first time I asked myself “Who am I to everybody else?”, because it is an important step to the question “Who am I?”

The Daily Post

As bloggers, we’re constantly defining ourselves to our readers. Through our photos, our stories, our poetry, our recipes, or our podcasts, we tell the world who we are. Even those of us who share a great deal of our personal lives still only give snippets of ourselves. We create a public persona (even our choices of blog themes reflect the way we want to represent ourselves online). We choose what we want to share of ourselves, and our readers fill in the rest according to their own points of view. Every reader might have a slightly different idea of who you truly are.

I’ve been thinking about how this applies to my daily life. I have an unconscious habit of creating stories about people I see, but whom I only know in “snippets.” The barista at my local coffee shop, the surly bus driver who never smiles at me no…

View original post 609 more words

Leave a Reply

